September 22nd, 2021

How Many Countries In Paris Agreement 2020


The Paris Conference was the 21st session of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), known as COP 21. The conference concluded a round of negotiations that opened in Durban, South Africa, in 2011, with the aim of reaching a new legal agreement between national governments to strengthen the global response to climate change. A record 150 Heads of State and Government attended the opening day of the conference. In November 2020, 194 states and the European Union signed the agreement. 188 states and the EU, which account for about 79% of global greenhouse gas emissions, have ratified or acceded to the agreement, including China and India, the first and third largest CO2 emitting countries among UNFCCC members. [12] [13] [14] The 197 members of the UNFCCC have either signed the Paris Agreement or acceded to the Paris Agreement. Until 9 November 2020, 25 institutional owner associations and think tanks also found that the stated objectives of the Paris Agreement were implicitly “based on an assumption – that UN member states, including high polluters such as China, the US, India, Russia, Japan, Germany, South Korea, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Canada, Indonesia and Mexico, which produce more than half of the world`s greenhouse gas emissions, would voluntarily and conscientiously reduce their carbon pollution, without a binding mechanism for measuring and controlling CO2 emissions at each level, from one plant to another and without specific gradation or tax pressure (e.g. a carbon tax) in order to avoid bad behaviour. .

Comments are closed.